Not Accepted…But Still Acceptable?

After nearly 7 days of delays, the Colored Pencil Society of America today posted its list of “Accepted Artists” for the 19th Annual International Show, being held this year in Dallas.  My name was not on that list.  I really thought I was prepared for the kind of emotions I would have if I didn’t see my name on my list…but not so much.  The emotions are much more raw.  I don’t like rejection.  Excuse me…I don’t like to not be on the accepted list.  But because my works were not accepted, does that make them unacceptable to others besides that ONE judge?

None of us like to be told “no” and nobody likes rejection, but unfortunately, rejection is supposed to serve as the impetus to propel us forward.  To make us want to succeed even more.  I’m still in the process of trying to “find myself” as an artist.  I’m trying to discover my niche.  This blog would not be honest if I sat here and wrote that I’m just gonna dust myself off and jump up and be fine.  Yes, eventually I will – but right now, this stings.  Frankly, it sucks.  But this one judge is not going to stop me from doing what I absolutely love and that is creating art. I’ve just got to learn to connect with the viewers.  I’m anxious to see the actual works of the “accepted” artists (only names were revealed at this point).  I can learn from them – from their technique and their ability to make a work of art reach out and grab the viewer.

I met an artist last year at Fort Worth’s (Texas) Main Street Art Festival.  Artists for that show are chosen by a panel of jurors which changes annually.  He was a pen and ink artist and had applied to that show every year for fifteen years! He finally was an accepted artist on the fifteenth try.  I don’t know if I could have done that over and over that many times, but it shows me something: that level of rejection never got him down…he kept trying and trying again. That’s just what I intend to do…just after a glass of wine and a good cry.

One Response to “Not Accepted…But Still Acceptable?”

  1. Annette Matteson Says:

    Hey Lisa,
    What? Unthinkable. Must be rigged. Glad you will keep on trying. I love looking at your artwork. Love you, Annette

Leave a Reply

